First of 4 things

So, you have to turn in 4 things for the class. If you have something, post it as a comment here. It could be a blog post, a video you made or a just a description of some public event you did.

71 Responses to First of 4 things

  1. Steve Freeney says:

    I’ll post the link for my blog here as well.

    http://iamentangled.blogspot.com/

    I’ve got a post about the Chemistry and Physics seminar, as well as some other neat stuff.

  2. Heather Blees says:

    http://mousemuses.tumblr.com/
    I am not sure if I mentioned enough physics stuff to count so I will put it up again when i mention more

  3. Sean says:

    Hey, so for my first thing I set up a blog with wordpress. I know its not really a physics blog yet, but since everyone seems so interested in time travel and such I just figured I would start off with that (attention grabber, of course – I’ll start going more into what most people will get bored with soon, hopefully – THE BASICS!!) But for now, try to get past my poor analogies and other lit-based errors and see the idea of time travel from a different point of view. πŸ˜€ The only post on my blog right now is just a little theory or combination of theories I came up with a few years ago.

    My blog and first thing:

    donttimetravel.wordpress.com

  4. Sean says:

    Thanks Dr Allain,

    πŸ˜€

    This is my Second Thing, I originally posted it in “Friday’s Seminar” but realised that you intended for this post to be the medium for all of our “things.” So here it is, I just copied and pasted the comment from “Friday’s Seminar.”

    “Hey Dr. Allain, I would like to use my overview of Dr. Wiley’s seminar for the second of my four things. I thought he did very well, and here is the link to the post:

    http://donttimetravel.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/dr-wileys-seminar-on-metal-nanostructures/

    Thanks,
    Sean”

    P.S. How did you make that a link exactly? I’m used to word-processor-like interfaces, but the quick reply option has no interface. Right clicking showed nothing relevent either.

  5. rhettallain says:

    Just so you know, you can include a link in your comments by typing something like this

    https://phys191.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/first-of-4-things/

    It should automagically make it a link.

  6. […] First, whatever you have – add your thing as a comment in this post. […]

  7. Sagun G.C. says:

    Neutrino Broke The Speed Limit Of Universe. MP(member of physics community ) Albert Einstein strongly advocated the speed limit of universe in his manifesto General Theory Of Relativity,who became successful in setting the law(no object can exceed the speed of light) in the constitution of physics.While the protector of law are acting actively to find loophole in the data , some scientist are already working to ammend the constitution. what a exciting time in the congress of physics!!!!
    so, Dr.Allain here i have came up with the first post for my blog which is directly taken from CERN bulletin …..
    http://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=4342116726709018001#editor/target=post;postID=7045692928937121219

  8. Caleb says:

    Oh this is Caleb btw. It used the name of my blog.

  9. Thus far, I’ve made two posts on a personal blog (http://mental-implosion.blogspot.com/), though I intend to expand for my future ‘items’, such as a presentation to a local school. The blog will have other posts, all of which will be related to physics, though I am not sure how in depth we must go for them to be counted.

    The two posts, in order, are available at:
    http://mental-implosion.blogspot.com/2011/10/informational-rant-on-tesla.html

    http://mental-implosion.blogspot.com/2011/10/schrodinger-letting-quantum-cat-out-of.html

    ~Joshua Wigginton

  10. Here is my first blog. It is not solid physics but I tried to aim at the heart of physics with a more mathematical approach. I hope this is acceptable.
    http://phinominalblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/the-golden-ratio-phi/

    ~Daniel Daigle

  11. Here is my second blog, A Ramble on Turbulence, Chaos and Laminar flow…. at least to the extent that i understand it.
    http://phinominalblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/a-ramble-on-turbulence-chaos-and-laminar-flow/

    ~Daniel Daigle

  12. ethanmartin says:

    Hey this is my two projects that I have done. Can two people please comment on both of my blogs?

    http://ethanrocks93.pbworks.com/

  13. http://physics130.dinstudio.com/diary_1_1.html

    This is a link to my blog where there are 2 blogs posted. Enjoy. πŸ™‚

  14. mcj03 says:

    http://physicsbuzzer.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/nikola-tesla/
    Here is a link to my blog post. Hope it is not to long.

  15. matt hardee says:

    http://physicsvids.blogspot.com/
    This contains both videos .

  16. KeatonCarter says:

    I made a trip to my old high school and gave a demonstration to a fifth grade class and a sixth grade class (each on different days, so these are two separate presentations). I gave a demo on how force and friction act on an object at rest. I used a setup you have probably seen before. It consisted of a small car with a track that only allowed it to go forward and backward and the wheels on the car were almost frictionless. This was some of my old high school’s gear so I managed to get one of those force sensors, in order to show the classes how much force has an effect on a moving object and an object at rest. I got the idea for this demo from the class we had on how force affects an object where we looked at the different graphs and videos. It may have been a little over the classes head, but overall I think they enjoyed the demo and I figured if some of the kids did grasp the information I was trying to convey, it would help them greatly in the future.

  17. Brayden Stephens says:

    “thing” 1 & 2- Kinematics!
    1. basic ball throw straight up and down.
    2. Bullet drop

  18. Caleb says:

    Here is my second thing! Its another blog post, this time about Entropy.

    http://onephysics.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/entropy-well-an-attempt-at-it/

  19. KEYANNA BUCKNER says:

    A Princeton plasma physicist is at the beach when he discovers an ancient looking oil lantern sticking out of the sand. He rubs the sand off with a towel and a genie pops out. The genie offers to grant him one wish. The physicist retrieves a map of the world from his car an circles the Middle East and tells the genie, ‘I wish you to bring peace in this region’.

    After 10 long minutes of deliberation, the genie replies, ‘Gee, there are lots of problems there with Lebanon, Iraq, Israel, and all those other places. This is awfully embarrassing. I’ve never had to do this before, but I’m just going to have to ask you for another wish. This one is just too much for me’.

    Taken aback, the physicist thinks a bit and asks, ‘I wish that the Princeton tokamak would achieve scientific fusion energy break-even.’

    After another deliberation the genie asks, ‘Could I see that map again?’

  20. w0481851 says:

    Here is my first blog….What is string theory?

  21. robin joshi says:

    So here’s my first thing . Will Post the second thing before the deadline, well hopefully πŸ™‚

    http://robinselu.blogspot.com/2011/10/x-rays-how-they-are-produced-and.html

  22. Crews12 says:

    http://fearfq.blogspot.com/2011/10/frequency-of-fear.html
    Here is my first blog post. Pretty interesting read

  23. Casey Guitreau says:

    Here is both of my physics things.
    http://caseysphysics.weebly.com/blog.html

  24. w0481851 says:

    well, here is my second post about nanotechnology

    http://wp.me/p1VeYJ-x

  25. Elliot Crosby says:

    Im sorry its late Ive been having computer troubles, but I finally uploaded my physics projects.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/69165718@N02/?saved=1
    The first picture is a potato cannon, and the second is a bulk head.

  26. Drexel Verrette says:

    I emailed everyone because this blog wasn’t working for me so here it is

    http://drexel-hotwater.blogspot.com/

    http://frogslevitate.blogspot.com/

  27. Dilip Kharel says:

    I had posted my first two things in another post, so I’m posting them both here :

    In general, viscosity is defined as the property of materials which is related to the ease with which they flow. For E.g. Molasses has greater viscosity than water, as water flows with greater ease.

    Quantitatively, the viscosity can be observed by considering a liquid (say water) enclosed between two plates (say P1 and P2). We suppose β€˜h’ as the distance between two plates and β€˜A’ as the area of contact between the plates and the liquid. If the top plate P1 is pulled with a velocity β€˜v’, it is found that the liquid next to it moves along with the velocity β€˜v’ and the liquid next to the bottom plate does not move.
    However, the liquid in between bottom and upper plate moves with velocity that varies between 0 and β€˜v’.

    In above case, as the liquid flows, its molecules slide over each other since the velocities of different parts of liquid are different. Hence, the amount of effort that must be exerted to cause the flow will depend on the β€˜friction’ between the moving layers of liquid.

    The viscosity of liquid here is determined by various things like shape, size, flexibility, forces of attraction.
    Force β€˜F’ that must be exerted to move to plate P1 at velocity β€˜v’ is calculated by,
    F= (Ξ·.A.v.)/h ………… where, β€˜Ξ·β€™ is a proportionality constant.
    This force is known as Viscosity of liquid between the plates. The unit of viscosity is given as:
    Ξ·= (F.h)/(A.v) = (Newton). (sec)/(m2)

    The viscosity of liquid, on the other hand can be determined by knowing the time of flow of liquid. If β€˜t’ is the time of flow, β€˜d’ is the density, viscosity is given by:
    Ξ·= d. Ξ².t ………. where, Ξ² is proportionality constant.

    In the above video, we can see that the two liquid flow with different velocity and different ease which shows that the viscosity of two liquids are different which cause the velocity to differ.

  28. Dilip Kharel says:

    And this was my first blog.

    http://tutormephysics.blogspot.com/

  29. Dylan Fitzgerald says:

    This was the first of my four things. I attended an elementary school where they were having a physics day. I had constructed a rube goldberg project and demonstrated it to the kids and let them play with it themselves. I explained to them how it related to physics and everything. The day turned out fantastic and the kids really enjoyed themselves.

    This was the second of my four things. I went to my old high school where my old physics teacher let me teach the class for the day. With there being so much in physics, I focused on just speed and velocity. I explained how to calculate that and gave examples to them for them to get a better understanding and appreciation on it. Everybody enjoyed it and said I had helped them a lot.

  30. James Patterson says:

    Here are my 1 and 2 posts.

    The first one is about the naval rail gun project. By using magnets, they are propelling projectiles at previously unimaginable speeds and forces. The video does a basic explanation, and most of the links within the video lead to more explanations and other demonstrations.

    The second is about a device which is still under a classified name. It uses a shaped explosive charge to create a jet of water in order to launch an IED out of the trunk of a car without causing them to detonate.

  31. Erica Dardar says:

    On September 17, I meet with students from Loranger high school physics class. Gave demonstration using a function generator, TV antennas, AM antennas, speakers, and an oscilloscope. Tested and showed them how electrical frequency transmitted form one source to another by using the two TV antennas. We hooked one up to the function generator and the other connected to the oscilloscope to show and measure the different types of frequencies. After that demo, we switched the antenna hooked to the oscilloscope and connected to a set of speakers. Then listened to the different pitch the different frequencies made. Lastly we used the AM antennas with the speakers and the oscilloscope to hear and see the frequency and pitch of electricity, which is 60MHz.

  32. Erica Dardar says:

    On September 28, I met again with students from Loranger to demo father on the concept of how electromagnetic flow to different types of frequencies, mainly how radio waves are transmitted. We used the same with UFV antennas along with a radio to actually supply the signal. We connected one of the antennas to the radio and the other to the speakers. Starting with the antenna not touching we demonstrated how electromagnetic fields worked. The students also got to feel the vibration of the electromagnetic field on their hands as they passed a hand over the antenna that was connected to the power source. After that we allowed the antenna connected to the speakers to receive the signal that was being transmitted from the radio. We also noted the loudness in the broadcast was correspondent to the distance between the two antennas.

Leave a Reply

