Reminders about reassessments

This is nothing new.

  • Include your question in your email.  That way you can make a 3 min video instead of a 5 min video where you spend 2 min reading the question.  This makes me happier.  A happier Dr. Allain means higher scores.
  • Numbers are boring.  If you spend much of your screencast talking about the numbers, you are missing the point.
  • Simple problems are boring.  Remember, your job is to convince me that my in class score wasn’t appropriate.  If you are working on Newton’s second law, try doing something other than a rope pulling a block with friction.  If you are having trouble coming up with something, look at the more difficult homework problems.  I had a couple of students create very interesting (but wrong problems).  They still got a pretty good score.
  • My feedback is minimal.  If you really want quality feedback, work with some other students or come see me in my office.  It’s not that I don’t care – just short on time.

I will probably give this same reminder later.

Screenshot_6_26_13_7_11_AM

Leave a Reply

